November Approaches

Are you doing or thinking about participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)? I’m planning on doing it yet again. So far, I’ve written and published eight novels thanks to NaNoWriMo. My eighth has just been published.

IMG_6014.JPG

I’m trying to come up with a plot for another novel to write in fourteen days. Time is not my friend, at the moment, but so far, I have a protagonist, an antagonist, and a number of ideas for various scenes. I also have a title.

My other eight novels were all part of a series, but now I’m attempting to branch out and start something new. I’ve begun making a map of a new fantasy world. I’m also using an absolutely fantastic workbook from NaNoWriMo called Ready, Set, Novel! It has fantastic creative ideas for jumpstarting ideas and planning and plotting a novel. I’m using it to figure out my world, and to learn about my characters in much greater depth. I still have a tremendous amount of work to do, but I’ve figured out a lot. I especially liked the section near the beginning which encourages using the What If plan, thinking of outrageous ideas, not limiting my imagination. That helped me a lot.

Next up will be more characters and then family trees, followed by scenes which will hopefully become a plot. I’ll let you know how it all goes. I love NaNoWriMo!! I never would have written even one novel. And now, I’m trying to figure out my ninth! November is my favorite month because of NaNoWriMo.